A little Christmas gift

As I said before, I totally admire Mr. Dickens work, mainly because of the way he used words, but also because he found a way to live off writing and create amazing pieces at the same time. While looking into A Christmas Carol history, to post it here, I came across this words by Dickens refering to his novel:

“I HAVE endeavoured in this Ghostly little book, to raise the Ghost of an Idea, which shall not put my readers out of humour with themselves, with each other, with the season, or with me. May it haunt their house pleasantly, and no one wish to lay it.
Their faithful Friend and Servant, C. D. December, 1843.”

It’s hard to believe it’s being this long since the novel was first written and how it’s become a tradition for the holiday season. I totally love the idea of the ghosts visiting Mt. Scrooge to make him see what’s his live has been, what’s like in the present and how it might be in the future. But what really takes my breath away’s the begining of it the story: “Marley was dead: to begin with. There is no doubt whatever about that”.
I’ve read it dozens of times and I still wonder, how on earth could Dickens come up with this begining? I guess I’ll neve know, but at the same time I’ll always have the chance to imagine once and again how it could’ve been. And while I’m doing that, Merry Christmas to you all out there!

Author: The Traveling Book Club by Nora Vasconcelos

I'm a born writer and a journalist who loves books so much that can't live without them.

Leave a Reply

