Extraordinary my dear Watson, truly extraordinary!

Extraordinary my dear Watson.
It was just a few minutes passed the lunch time. The sky was getting dark and the freshness in the air clearly announced that a heavy rain was about the start. Anyways, I was a woman on a mission.
I had been in London just for a few hours, but I couldn’t skipped my one chance to visit the one and only Sherlock Holmes Museum right at 221B Baker Street.
I didn’t take my coat. I didn’t wear my hat. Even more, I didn’t even carry an umbrella.
Then I started walking. From Paddington station to the Regents Park area. It seamed quite easy. I had a map, after all.
Some twenty minutes later… I was lost!
Well, not lost lost. I was simply confused.
I had passed by Baker Street so many times without actually finding the place.
Everything was there, just like the map showed it, the same streets around but no museum at all!
Did I get dissapointed? Yes.
Dissapointed yes, but never discouraged!
The rain came, as expected, and as it should happen, I got all wet.
Crossing Regents Park right in the middle of the storm was a unique adventure. With a beautiful view, though.
Did I quit?
Never!
The following day I went back on my steps.
I was totally determined to find the famous place that houses the memorabilia created from the famous series of short stories written by Conan Doyle!
The enterprise wasn’t easy again. And again, I got my good share of walking that day. No rain, though.
Did I find the place…?
Elementary my dear readers. I did find the place!
Right in front of me there it was! 221B Baker street with its very own fence and a green sign. I was totally amazed!
Once inside, things were like described by Conan Doyle in his Study in Scarlet.
“WE met next day as he had arranged, and inspected the rooms at No. 221B, Baker Street, of which he had spoken at our meeting. They consisted of a couple of comfortable bed-rooms and a single large airy sitting-room, cheerfully furnished, and illuminated by two broad windows”.
And then, while visiting the house… I ran into the very own Dr. Watson!
My amousement couldn’t be better!
Wearing a suit and a hat. Dr. Watson greeted the visitors and talked to everyone.
Resting in a living room. Sherlock’s loyal partner, proudly showed everyone all the letters that the detective receives from all over the world. Specially from children. Asking him to solve their problems and concerns. The museum collects them in a binder.
Saddly, after exploring all the rooms, it was time to go. Not without saying good bye to Dr. Watson first! Smiling, he waved good bye.
I smiled back and couldn’t help myself. He wans’t listening any more because I was faraway then, but anyways, I exclaimed: Extraordinary, my dear Watson, truly extraordinary!

Author: The Traveling Book Club by Nora Vasconcelos

I'm a born writer and a journalist who loves books so much that can't live without them.

3 thoughts on “Extraordinary my dear Watson, truly extraordinary!”

  1. What an story, Nora! Now I want to visit the place myself. Hopefully when I have the chance there will be rain and a Mr. Watson waiting for me.

Leave a Reply

