The importance of Oscar Wilde

Although it might seem a bit strange, my first memories of Oscar Wilde’s work come from the time when I was a little girl and had the chance to watch The Happy Prince at a theater. Back then I got amazed by all the fantasy that the story contained, and I found this really enjoyable.
Later on more plays and stories by Wilde came to my life, such as Lady Windermere’s Fan, and Lord Arthur Savile’s Crime. Up to that point I wasn’t really aware of the importance of Oscar Wilde in the literary world, but his way of presenting ideas in such a singular manner was something I really liked, so, some time later, I got a collection of his works.
The very first one I read then was The Canterville Ghost, but the one that really made me a huge fan of Wilde’s work was The Picture of Dorian Gray.
Ever since, I’ve enjoyed a lot reading these stories again every now and then, and not so much time ago I came across The Complete Letters of Oscar Wilde.
In this book I found a very humane Wilde, someone who used to enjoy the simple things in life, who liked traveling and sharing his experiences with his family and friends. I also found a really desperate man who lost all hope when the times were really difficult, and at the end, someone who begged his friends for help during his last years.
While reading his letters it was difficult not to feel completely moved, but at the same time, I got even more amazed by the way he managed to present his stories in a really amusing and enjoyable way.

Author: The Traveling Book Club by Nora Vasconcelos

I'm a born writer and a journalist who loves books so much that can't live without them.

Leave a Reply

