A story I’ll never forget

The Perfum.
Some time ago, while reading the newspaper a story caught my attention. It started with a little baby living at a street market by the Seine River. His days passed surranded by all kind of death fish parts that were disposed by the merchants while selling the rest of the fish to the costumers.
As the year pass by, the baby grows up in not much better conditions and those first days of his life at the market marked his life forever.
Then the first installment of the story published in the newspaper got to the end. However, the way it was written made me go straight to the bookstore to get this book called The Perfum.
It didn’t take long for me to go through the whole novel written by Patrick Süskind. It was just one of those books that you can’t put down, no matter how rough the story becomes.
So, as the time passes in the story, the main character, Jean-Baptiste Grenouille, notices that his sense of smell allows him to differenciate all the scents that are around him, even the most subtle ones.
Then he starts mixing those scents to create new ones or to recreate some others, until this becomes an obsession.
Once he’s becomes a young man he gets strongly attracted to discover all the singularities that come from the smell of the women he meets.
And then, he becomes a murderer.
This is the time when his life turns into a spiral of compulsion and violence that only ends with his own sacrifice.
When I got to this point, I was feeling totally and completely sick. Even more because I read the last 250 pages in one go, before going to sleep, what clearly I couldn’t do after finishing the book.
Although the experience wasn’t a pretty one for me, specially at the end, the way the author managed to present every single part of the story as if it was something real, is something I’ve always admired.
I don’t really think I’ll be able to read again this book, however, I’m always going to remeber the way words were used here to create all those images in such a clear and vivid way.

Author: The Traveling Book Club by Nora Vasconcelos

I'm a born writer and a journalist who loves books so much that can't live without them.

2 thoughts on “A story I’ll never forget”

Leave a Reply

