The man who defeated the sea

Text and Photo by Nora Vasconcelos

Against the waves.
Not so long ago, I had the chance to see the movie In Love and War, based upon the book by Henry Serrano Villard and James Nagel.

The story shows the crucial moment in which Heminghway turns from and optimistic young man into a tough writer that shows the ways of war and life in a crude way.

Althoug the movie was filmed a long time ago (1996), watching it gave me a new perspective of the American author. his work and the circumstances which marked his writing.

That also made me appreciate even more one of my favorite short stories: The Old man and the sea.

I got this book many years ago, and I didn’t stop reding it until I finished it. Back then I got completely fascinated by the extraordinary way the words were presented by Hemingway and how all these words suddenly were transformed into very clear images in my mind, that allowed me not only to see the old fisherman fighting with the huge fish first, and the sharks later on, but also even to smell the salt of the sea and to hear the waves crashing into the little boat.

Now, every time I happen to be nearby a beach where the boats arrive with their fresh cargo, the amazing story of Santiago, the brave fisherman, comes to my mind.

Author: The Traveling Book Club by Nora Vasconcelos

I'm a born writer and a journalist who loves books so much that can't live without them.

5 thoughts on “The man who defeated the sea”

    1. Hi Hassan, thanks for your comments! I’m really happy to hear you like my blog.
      Blogging is a fascinating adventure, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it too. The best thing you can do is to choose a topic you really like and write about it in a natural way, as if you were chating with friends.
      Best of luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

