Ups and downs of San Fancisco

Text and Photo by Nora Vasconcelos

A lively place to visit.
I love wandering in bookstores the same as I love wandering around cities. The bigger the place, the happier I am.
One of these days that I was touring around in one of these bookstores I came across with a lovely package.
It was a box full of images of San Francisco. I love San Francisco, so it’s needless to say I couldn’t help myself. Next thing I knew, I had the box in my basket.
This box was close. So, the only thing I had it was the promise of a wonderful discovery.
As soon as the promise became an acquisition, I finally opened it.
Inside there was this lovely hardcover book called San Francisco: A past to present photo tour.
Named it as a Tourist toolkit by the publisher, Whitman Publisher, the book certainly can become a kind companion for someone who travels to the city very well know for its streets that go up and down all around.
The photo tour comes with short and enjoyable explanations that take the reader to a trip to the story of San Francisco that starts with the story of how the famous so called Painted Ladies became this series of houses in charming colors by the Alamo Park.
The trip continues stopping by the most famous San Francisco landmarks, sharing with the reader a series of photographs of old and new scenes that show how the city has changed throughout the years.
As a charming touch, the publisher came up with the nice idea of preparing a set of little postcards with short messages where more information about the landmarks is share with the readers.
In the end, this tourist took kit becomes a wonderful place where the mind is free to travel around, either the traveler is actually in San Francisco, or seated on a comfortable couch at home, somewhere in the world.

Author: The Traveling Book Club by Nora Vasconcelos

I'm a born writer and a journalist who loves books so much that can't live without them.

Leave a Reply

