Where do you find your inspiration to write?

I usually find myself creating story after story, thinking which it’ll be the development of the plot?, What it would happend to my characters? What would they say? and How would they react at any given moment?

I get inspiration from everywhere and at any moment. I don’t know how it happens, it just comes to my mind. And some times I just don’t even realized, I just start writing, as if it were the most natural thing in the world. It’s really really fun.

However, I totally know that sometimes the occupations and the stress of the everyday life can ruin inspiration. So, sometimes, in order to get my ideas back in place I like to exercise my mind while taking some ideas from those books that invite the reader to finish the stories by them selfs. Although most of them are focused to kids, I find really exciting going through the stories and imagining what it’d be the best ending for the stories, or the unexpected destiny of the characters if I choose wrong before taking the next step. I have to say that I find it really amousing and it really helps me out to relax and it gives my mind a “vacation time”. Then the ideas for my own stories start to flow again!

I’ve also found this title useful. It’s call Plots unlimited, by Tom Sawyer and Arthur David Weingarten. The book cotains ideas for masterplots, conflict situations and character combinations. With all of this ideas, it’s possible to form several combinations that always keep me really entertained.

And now after sharing these ides, I totally feel that it’s writing time!

Happy manuscripts to come!

Author: The Traveling Book Club by Nora Vasconcelos

I'm a born writer and a journalist who loves books so much that can't live without them.

6 thoughts on “Where do you find your inspiration to write?”

  1. Thanks for posting this! One of the ironies about my job is that I have THINKING time for writing. I just can’t stop and start writing so I have to remember to bring a notebook so I can jot as I go. For some reason, there is a corralation between physical exercise and the active mind. That said, maybe I should dust off my exercise bike. It could have a two-fold benefit.

    Another source for inspiration is meandering through old notes that I’d stuck into a box of stuff. Every so often, I’ll get into a fit of cleaning and find those notebooks, and off I go. I heard that L. M. Montgomery (who wrote the Anne of Green Gables series ) got the idea from meandering through a box of story notes that she’d stored in a hatbox. THANKFULLY, I’m up to my neck in ideas. I just need the time to get ’em all put together.

  2. I loved this writing. I was out of work for four months, and now I do Security. My job is very demanding and writing and commenting are getting harder. With today’s economic hardships I am learning to stay positive no matter what, thanks for writing this.

  3. Very insightful to read about what inspires your writing… Sometimes the muse works abundantly and then she rests… We all have these moments in writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

