The reader’s dilemma

So many book. Too little time…
A couple of days ago, as I was leaving home, I noticed that I wasn’t carrying any book in my bag, so I rapidly turned back and extended my hand to reach for one. It was then when I face a terrifying moment of doubt… in that very moment I was totally unable to decide which book should I take!

I usually keep track of two or three books at the same time, and I often find very easily to deal with all of them, giving each one a specific reading time.

However, every once in a while I get completely “trap” by more than one story, and then it’s when I face what I’ve called The reader’s dilemma: How I’m supposed to choose one book I can’t put down over another that I can’t either stop reading?

The dilemma grows bigger when I have limited time to read during the day, and then, when I finally make a choice (after several times going from one to other before I actually pick one), I really enjoy my reading, but deep inside I keep wondering what’s going to happen next with the other book’s plot and characters?

Of course, when I get back home, I immediately pick up that solitary book that was left behind due to time limitation (and some other time because of the limited space in my bag that’s always packed with heavy stuff) and then it feels like as if it were a wonderful reunion between two very good friends that got apart a long time ago.

It’s in this moment, when the reading is going amazingly well, when I alw ays face another one of these reader’s dilemmas, because by then I’m so tired that it’s very difficult for me to keep my eyelids open. But… I want to keep on reading!!!! So… I go the extra mile until I unconsciously surrender to the magical powers of Morpheus, the Greek god of dreams.

Naturally, when I wake up the following morning, with the book by my side, I can’t help wondering: “Wouldn’t it be fantastic if it were possible to read and sleep at the same time?”

So far, I haven’t been able to find a positive answer for this question, so, meanwhile, I keep dealing with my reading dilemmas, finding them quite amusing and interesting.

Licencia Creative Commons

Author: The Traveling Book Club by Nora Vasconcelos

I'm a born writer and a journalist who loves books so much that can't live without them.

4 thoughts on “The reader’s dilemma”

  1. Just perusing your archives and saw this. I can relate! I always have several books on the go including one or two non-fiction books that i can pick up and put down, not having to worry about a storyline. If i get a book that i really enjoy and can’t put down, I will actually stick with that until i’m done but often i pick up whichever book I’m in the mood for at that sitting. Now that i have an ereader, it’s even easier to have a bunch on the go at once because i can carry them all at the same time.

    1. Hi there! Thanks for stopping by and going through my blog posts. I’m happy to hear that you found this post interesting, and yes, the reader’s dilemma constinuos for me. I’ve just finished one book and I have a complete new pile right here trying to decide which one will be next. Happy readings! 🙂

Leave a Reply

