The Future of Books

Text by Nora Vasconcelos

Books and more booksAs ebooks beocome more popular, I keep of having mix feeling about them.

On the one hand, I feel amazed by how wonderful these ebooks are, as you can simply file them in your ebook reader or your tablet and take them all around, as many as you want, without even having any problems with space. This is a wonderful thing while traveling.

On the other hand, I always miss the exciting feeling of having an actual book in my hands, feeling them and even smelling and listening to them as I turn the pages.

I also miss the outstanding feeling of wandering around the bookstores. I remember it was just a few years ago when going to the bookstore was one of the most exciting experiences as I was able to get almost any book I wanted at any given time.

However, this has been changing very quickly and nowadays it’s harder to find those huge bookstores in which everything was around. Now even though the bookstores keep a big selection, most of the time when a book’s not found on the shelves you’re often offered a book order by the same boostore.

So I keep on having these conflicted feeling in which I like ebooks and at the same time dislike them (for taking over printed books), and I keep on wishing that at some point bookstores will find their way to be the amazing places I’ve always love, and I keep on wishing that the Memorable Bookstores I’ve visited, will remain as great as they are.

At the same time, I’m grateful for the digital iniciatives like Project Gutenberg that aim to spread the love for books by sharing with the world thoushands of ebooks.

This kind of digital universal libraries remind me of an essay written by Isaac Asimov called The Ultimate Library, in which the author foresaw in 1980 what was going to be like the library of the future, in which, according to him, everything would be digitalized and people could reach any book just by connecting to a personal gadget such as a TV Set.

In his article, Asimov shows all the advantages of a Global Computarized Library that will contain all the knowledge of books around the world.

At the same time, the writer explained the benefits of the practical applications of the knowledge gotten from those digital books, and said that this wouldn’t be end the publishing business, it only would transform it, Asimov said.

So, while the books world keeps on changing, readers like me keep on trying to adjust fast to these new technologies, and in my case, I keep on treasuring more and more my big collection of printed books.

As for the new generation, the same Asimov said it well, it will be difficult for them how was the world without digital libraries.

Licencia Creative Commons

Author: The Traveling Book Club by Nora Vasconcelos

I'm a born writer and a journalist who loves books so much that can't live without them.

5 thoughts on “The Future of Books”

  1. i have lots of ebooks too, but i still buy “actual books”. ebooks is good because its very handy, and you can definitely bring it all the time. but reading actual books is still is the best. there’s nothing can beat the smell of the paper and flipping the pages 🙂

  2. Nice post, few years back me and my friend had a similar discussion but it was on newspapers he was to the point that newspaper will die soon as many people love reading online newspapers. And as you’ve mentioned I miss the feeling of having newspaper in my hands, feeling them and even smelling and listening to them as I turn the pages. This is true for books and newspaper both.

    1. Thank you very much for reading my post and for taking the time to write. I like you comment very much. I know what you mean about having a newspaper in your hands. Talking about this, if you can get an English copy of Gabriel Garcia Marquez memoir Vivir para contarla (Live to tell the tale), I think you’re gonna like it, as it talks about the early times when Garcia Marquez started to work as a reporter for a newspaper. I loved that book because at some poin I could almost smell the ink coming from the newspaper press. Happy readings! 🙂

Leave a Reply

